About Us

Each of Canada’s 13 provinces and territories has a liquor board, commission or corporation that oversees the control, distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in its jurisdiction. While each of these bodies is unique, they are all committed to working together through CALJ on liquor-related issues of common interest.

Twice a year, the heads of each of Canada’s liquor boards, commissions and corporations meet at CALJ to discuss topics ranging from operations and trade to alcohol policy and social responsibility.

Created in 1942, CALJ’s mandate is to:

  • promote and encourage frank, open and ethical practices concerning the control, purchase and/or sale of alcoholic beverages;
  • co-operate with all provincial, territorial and federal agencies concerned with the control, sale and taxation of alcoholic beverages;
  • improve the provinces’ and territories’ systems of control and distribution of alcoholic beverages by co-operation and free flow of information among the members of the Association and by regular meetings or conferences of the members of the Association and comparable jurisdictions outside Canada.

The 13 Canadian liquor commissions and boards are:

  • Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission 
  • British Columbia Liquor Distribution Branch
  • Liquor Control Board of Ontario 
  • Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries
  • Northwest Territories Liquor Commission
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation
  • New Brunswick Liquor Corporation 
  • Nova Scotia Liquor Corporation
  • Nunavut Liquor Commission
  • Prince Edward Island Liquor Control Commission
  • Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority 
  • Société des alcools du Québec 
  • Yukon Liquor Corporation

Read more about the history of CALJ


Contact Us

c/o Prince Edward Island Liquor Control Commission
3 Garfield Street
Charlottetown, PE C1A 6A4

Email Us

Tel: 902-368-5721 
Fax: : 902-368-5735

Don't drink and DriveDon't Drink and Drive
Visit Madd.ca